Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. Checkout our Plumbers Insurance area - heavily discounted Public Liability Insurance and Van Insurance specifically designed for plumbers.

Discuss Advice on Hot/Cold bath mixer in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

Tags:
  1. AlexTeslin

AlexTeslin New Member

Hi All,

I am a resident of council flat in a 4 story block. Last week my local council has started a work on regeneration program, which includes kitchen and bathroom improvement. To cut the story short, they've installed a new bath with the new bath/shower mixer. And this is where the problem is.

When I run hot and cold using a bath only tap the water flows just fine. And the cold water has more pressure than the hot. But when I then pull the switch, or whatever it's called, to direct the water to the shower hose, only the hot water flows from the shower head. No cold is flowing at all. Hence the pressure is very low and there is no way to regulate the temperature.

I asked the plumber who installed the tap and he said to me that he can come back for a private work and install a pump to make my shower work correctly.

I went to my local bath/shower shop, as I thought there is something wrong in the setup as there was no cold water whatsoever, for an advice. The shop assistant told me that it's difficult to suggest but it looks as either the pipes are not wide enough or something wrong with pipes in general.

He also told me that I can't install a pump as I have a new combi boiler and no water tanks.

Can anyone please suggest, if this has to do with pipes and in which case I have to ask the council plumber to fix the problem? Or should I wait until the work is done and call him back to install the pump? But then can I install the pump for the combi setup?

In fact if anyone can suggest what solutions have I got or what needs to be done?

Thank you,
    Alex

2. ShaunCorbs