Search the forum,

Discuss Am I being underpaid? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
U

Unregistered

Hi gents.

I'm currently studying my level 3 NVQ and I'm working for a one man band. In work I do a lot of the work and on a average day it's 9 hours but this does go on sometimes in to silly hours. Ive just passed my OFTEC which the boss paid for so I don't want to leave if I can help it and I do enjoy working with the guy, but the pay is grinding me down at the minute.

My pay at the moment is 40 a day and he does cut it when we finish early to 25.

He's happy with my work and even said that I do a better job than him.

Any advice? I feel stuck because I don't want to jeopardise my NVQ by causing a argument over pay.

Thanks for reading.

Hi gents.

I'm currently studying my level 3 NVQ and I'm working for a one man band. In work I do a lot of the work and on a average day it's 9 hours but this does go on sometimes in to silly hours. Ive just passed my OFTEC which the boss paid for so I don't want to leave if I can help it and I do enjoy working with the guy, but the pay is grinding me down at the minute.

Any advice? I feel stuck because I don't want to jeopardise my NVQ by causing a argument over pay.

Thanks for reading.

nope about right i would say but depending on where you live

All good so long as he pays more when you go over 9 hours as well as cuts it for half day.

Perhaps a conversation asking him politely what you could do to increase your wage to say £60.

Nvq3 so you must be nearly there now. Bite your tongue you're nearly at the finish line now.

The pay is poor but the experience is priceless. He's allowing you to do the work, not just bring equipment from the van and clean up after him. He's also shown commitment to your technical training. Complete your NVQ3 before you have hard words.