Search the forum,

Discuss Booster pump installed successfully, but now boiler goes to overheat! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, need advice as I am an amateur who wanted to improve things but made it worse. Ok, have a duplex apartment with a Baxi solo 2 gas central heating. All working ok but the gravity fed shower upstairs was slow in water pressure, and I found this cheap 0.9 Bar electric booster pump on Amazon and spent half a day installing it myself and to my surprise had no leaks and when switched on it did the job as described--- water pressure increased to have a good quality shower. I installed it on a hot water feed going from hot water tank to shower. When happy with myself I switched the boiler to heat up the water, it started as usual but in 2 min cut off and overheat light came up. First I decided to reset the PCB, so I switched it off for 10 sec. The pipe going out of the boiler was really hot, so just in case I let things cool down and came back to the boiler in 20 min. Started it, it did kick in and then again in 2 min stopped and showed overheat again. So, lads, what it is-- an airlock in the system or is that my pump restricting the water circulation and what do I do? I plan to go all the way back to where I started from disconnecting the pump as we all need a Good shower now. And I only hope it will be the same as it was before.... Thanks in advance!

Check the circulating pump for your central heating its could be sticking or has failed , fitting a shower pump on your hotwater supply will not casuse your boiler to overheat , your heating pump is the heart of your system it circulates heated water through your radiators and through a coil in your hotwater cylinder from your boiler it is more likely to be your problem , other causes could be a zone valve fault or a electrical problem on the controls cheers kop

Can you post a picture of where you have instead the pump.