Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Cistern syphon diaphragm replacement in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. noname

noname Member

I am an occasional diy plumber. The other day I thought it was about time to replace the diaphragm in my Idesl Standard close coupled toilet syphon as the handle often needed to be pumped to get a decent flush. I did not find it a particularly easy job. The toilet did not have a service valve so I had to rely on a leaky gate valve in the loft to shut off the water. I ended up having to fit a flexible connector with a service valve and a Diall cistern inlet valve with a brass shank to replace the existing water inlet valve, as I had managed to strip the plastic thread on the old inlet valve. I bought a replacement ring doughnut rubber on which to seat the cistern. This was advertised as being suitable for an Ideal Standard Close coupled toilet. In fact it was anything but suitable so I then bought a standard conical rubber which I had to cut to shape to fit around the large nut that holds the syphon.

The rubber diaphragm which I removed had perished and I replaced it with a plastic diaphragm. Having done all that I do not find the flush operation 100% better so I am rather disappointed as it often needs two pumps of the handle unless you use brute force at the first attempt.

I concluded that this old type of syphon is hardly fit for purpose and I wish I had paid for the services of a plumber who might have used a modern syphon.
    As an aside, can any one explain to me how the Diall water inlet valve shuts off the water? Mine seems to work ok but there is no visible washer that might need replacing at some future date. Diall is, as you will know, is B & Qs own brand.

2. rpm

rpm Trusted Plumber

For washer use the word diaphragm. Pressure on the diaphragm stops the water.

3. rpm

rpm Trusted Plumber