Search the forum,

Discuss Firebird Oil Boiler not firing up in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

wanchope1

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the forum and first time poster. I do not have a great plumbing knowledge and was hoping for some advice on my oil boiler.

Apologies if this subject is covered elsewhere - I tried searching but could not find any matches.

Earlier in the week (Monday) my boiler was not firing up - the tank is 3/4 full. I tried pressing the reset button and still nothing. I took off the cover around the reset button and using an allen key loosened the pipe until oil started coming out. Thinking being there may be an air lock between tank and boiler. I then tightened it again and once I did this the boiler started firing up again.

However, today, the boiler is again not firing up. I tried the same thing as earlier in the week and nothing is happening. Same with the reset button nothing is happening.

I tried ringing a few local plumbers and they are not able to come out until Monday. As we have no other means of heating the house, and with two young children, I am keen to try to get the oil working again as soon as possible.

Any ideas/suggestions for trying to resolve this would be greatly appreciated!!

Welcome along.

So today did you get oil out when you undid the nut?

I had one today where the filter was frozen solid. Could be unrelated from earlier in the week. Check your filter.

I think we need more precise information. Is it the lockout button or overheat button, is the lockout button lit up, does the boiler fire and go to lockout or do you just hear a buzzing noise. More information reqd before we can give you precise information.

Thanks for your replies and apologies for delay in responding - went and got cheap convector heaters for the kids rooms.