Search the forum,

Discuss Flow rate with Grohe Euro fittings? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

daveth

The flow rate from my cheap n cheerful unbranded 'Chinese' monobloc mixer tap was worse than the old tap it replaced. I decided to upgrade to a Grohe unit (assuming it would be good gear as they are a premium brand) and thought about changing the mini isolating valves to proper lever type cut off valves to improve the flow.

I purchased a Grohe 'Concetto' tap online and was surprised to find it arrived with 'euro' sized 3/8 fittings, so the the job is now stopped whilst I source some adapters. :veryangry2:

Having looked at the flexis on the tap, the internal bore is a meagre 4.5mm compared to the internal bore on my std feed pipes of 13mm. These flexis are not removable, so I cant simply upgrade to wider flexis with 1/2 fittings.

Being a total noobie, I would like to know:
1) Will Grohes 3/8 flexis kill the flow rate?
2) The tap is specced at 13L flow a minute at 3 bar. Is that good/bad/indifferent?
3) Given the small bore flexis is there any point in upgrading mini isolating valves to a lever valve?

Thanks for any input!

Last edited by a moderator:
How you providing hot water? Combi, unvented cylinder or vented cylinder?

If that's a basin tap then why would you possibly want it to flow at 13l/m? Do you have a mains pressure system or gravity? To me it sounds like you may have fitted a high pressure tap to a low pressure set up.

If you fit that tap to a vented cylinder in an upstairs bathroom the hot flow will be so low you could hold a lighted match under the tap and it wouldn't even put it out.

It would take a full day to fill an egg cup.

Thanks for the replies

Its in the kitchen in an 'old school' gravity fed vented system - 3 storey house, so good head of water. Hot & cold flow were excellent with the original 1970s tap, just poor with the unbranded cheap tap.