Search the forum,

Discuss New central heating and HW system, ? Unvented Cylinder - what size, what boiler? Confused! HELP!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I'm new to Internet forums and new to commissioning a new CH system... any help would be greatly appreciated, as I'm pretty confused by all the differing things I've read and been told regarding my current heating dilemma.

Background - I've just purchased a large 1900s 4 bed semi with 1 bathroom. Currently there is a traditional vented system taking up most of the single bathroom, microbore rads and an old (20-30 yrs) BAXI boiler in the hall way.

I'm renervating the house to be my family home for my wife and 2 young kids. Full re wire, back to brick replaster etc.

We have plans for a large single storey kitchen/open plan extension to encorperate a new wet room and possibly underfloor heating. We will also be looking to undertake a loft conversion to add a 5th bedroom and ensuit. Thus I want to future proof my CH plans to accommodate a 5bed 3bathroom house.

General plan is for an unvented sysytem to be installed at the back of the garage which is attached to the side of the house, and bring the pipes in through the floor and up to the 1st and 2nd (loft) floor. Guidance thus far is that a combi isn't really an option for this size of house? And I'm keen to avoid a gravity fed system as I'd like to develope the loft as discussed.

The pressure to the property is reasonable, and the flow has been measured at 14lpm. However, the house is currently supplied by a 1/2" lead supply from the off-cock on the drive approximately 40m to where it enters the house - right at the rear of the property. I am planning to have this replaced with plastic following discussions with Severn Trent. I'm hoping this will improve the flow but appreciate the pressure is whatever I have from the supply.