Search the forum,

Discuss New self employed advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, this is my first time posting to this site however i regularly browse it. Im looking for a bit of advice and guidance as I have recently gone self employed... I will give you a bit of background first..

So, my names Cameron, and i'm 22 years old. I've been plumbing since i left school and picked it up very quickly. I completed a level 2 nvq apprenticeship with a domestic plumbing and heating company. They also sent me along to various Worcester bosch courses ect. From them I went to a mechanical firm that worked on new builds. I became a working supervisor but I did prefer domestic plumbing over this. The company then moved offices 100 miles away which forced me to leave. So from then I decided to set up my own limited company and work self employed. Luckily, a mate of mine was on a local new build site working as a subcontractor which he then got me on. Now this work is regular which is good, however i really want to steer away from this site work and start getting my own domestic work in. This is where i need advice...

I have my own website, and social media pages but thats the only advertising i really have. What do you guys recommend to start getting my name out there? Im debating registering for checkatrade but i get mixed opinions. At the minute i just need a bit of guidance on where to start really.. I am also currently studying my ACS for gas, which i should have completed in the next few weeks.

Any help would be much appreciated! And apologise for such a long message! Cheers!

i would try and start with family and friends and get a good set of reviews / name going about, it will be very tough for the first couple of years but once your name starts getting about it should be better,