Search the forum,

Discuss Salamander home boost pump in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

GQuigley67

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hello folks

Got a customer who wants one of these fitted in his house. House has 2 bathrooms with a combination boiler and 18-20 litres per minute coming from the kitchen sink cold mains tap.

His problem is that when he's in the shower and someone turns on the cold tap, he gets reduced flow(mixer taps)

When the house had an extension the plumber has came off the mains stopcock in 15mm.

So my question is, will the home boost help with this problem? and will it work with the hot outlets also ? I don't think it will but I have no experience with them.

one word accumulator

I think you can only pump 12 lpm from the mains which is below what you have anyway

If you've got 18-20 lpm anyway I won't do nothing ot will only pump to 12 anyway,

it advertises as if it increases the pressure when there is a drop so you get 12 lpm from each outlet simultaneously, he thinks thats what it does, I don't.

As Shaun says accumulater, home boost won't make any difference as you already have more than they pump

That's what I thought, I tried to talk him out of it he was one of those know it all types and was a medic, so he was going on about pressure and flow as if he knew better than me haha, had me questioning myself.

I much prefer the fuller answer given here, it helps people understand the why.

Accumulators offer an effective way to improve the supply pressures by providing a buffer of stored water, Air within the Accumulator (contained within a rubber diaphragm) is compressed by the mains water or charging pump (if necessary).

When a tap is opened, the water is forced out of the Accumulator to the tap,