Search the forum,

Discuss Secondary heat exchanger - flow/return temperatures in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennie

Gas Engineer
Hi all,

I'm a Gas Engineer, and new to fault diagnosis/repairs. I've measured the temperature on the flow/return pipes across my combi's secondary heat exchanger, with the hot bath tap on full. I have a Vaillant Ecomax 24 (year 2003). The flow was 70c, the return was 43.8c. I'd be interested to know what a good temperature is on the return pipe. No doubt I'll come across a few blocked heat exchangers in my future work. I presume if the return is too hot, that shows the heat transfer to the mains water hasn't taken place - hence a blocked heat exchanger. So ideally, the return temp should be as low as possible. Am I on the right track? Thanks for your advice, Jennie.

Temp. on return will never be lower than the water it's heating.Larger the difference in flow and return greater the heat transfer.

Hi all,

I'm a Gas Engineer, and new to fault diagnosis/repairs. I've measured the temperature on the flow/return pipes across my combi's secondary heat exchanger, with the hot bath tap on full. I have a Vaillant Ecomax 24 (year 2003). The flow was 70c, the return was 43.8c. I'd be interested to know what a good temperature is on the return pipe. No doubt I'll come across a few blocked heat exchangers in my future work. I presume if the return is too hot, that shows the heat transfer to the mains water hasn't taken place - hence a blocked heat exchanger. So ideally, the return temp should be as low as possible. Am I on the right track? Thanks for your advice, Jennie.

There are a few if's and but's there Jennie.

There will be differences on the primary return temp ( from PHE) dependant upon the flow rate through it on either primary or secondary side of it. This is because it's all about heat transfer as you know.