Search the forum,

Discuss Sizing my new combi boiler in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Triggertrevor

Hi all wondered if someone could help me out with my question.

For a wile now I've had problems getting heat to the last radiator on the system at my house.
All the rads are now cast iron,in total I have 7 rads and a Myson plinth heater in the kitchen.

Being a plumber by trade I've tried everything that springs to mind to sort this out.
1. Tried throttling all the rads back to allow heat to the last rad which worked,it got hot but not banging like some of the others on the system.
2. I've spent hours balancing all the rads which works fine for all the other rads but after trying this the last rad goes cold again.
3. The whole central heating system was only installed 12 years ago so there's no valves that could be half shut or stuck on the last leg
4. I've power flushed the whole system every time I added a new rad so the systems clean.
5. I have traditional looking valves which are all working fine wheel head & lock shield.

I used to have a Radiant 28kw boiler only a cheap make then I swooped it out for an early Worcester Bosch greenstar 25 he the one that was discontinued in 2003 I think but this was old stock that was left on the shelf or a wile.
I had similar problems with my last boiler with the last rad not getting as hot as it should so I thought the replacement boiler would sort this but I'm thinking because I'm now running cast rads this is where the problem lies.

Ive totalled my but output of all the cast rads inc the plinth heater and it comes to 46000 btu which I thought the Bosch boiler would have been able to handle.?

Can someone advise me if it's just a case of a under powered boiler trying to run all these rads.

Thanks again all

Kev

46000 btu is only around 14kw. The size of the boiler isn't the problem.