Search the forum,

Discuss Stored hot water query and issue insulated hot water cylinder with 2 side entry immersion heaters in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

Ontheball

Hi folks. First post on this forum. I'm a gas safe plumber/engineer and came across a hot water problem in a property with a type of direct hot water cylinder I've not encountered before. I know someone on here is going to wonder what type of plumber i am for not understanding this system, but there's always something you haven't come across.

Anyway, to explain the system, there's a cube shaped, insulated hot water cylinder with 2 side entry immersion heaters and a header tank. The header tank is all within the cube shaped cylinder body. It seems to hold approximately 5 litres of water and has the normal side entry inlet with float valve and a bottom entry outlet, as well as an overflow that leaves the cylinder body and then runs out of the property. The header tank also has what looks like a vent entering it, which is coming from within the main compartment of the cylinder.

The cold water mains enters at two points at the top of the square cylinder body in 15mm pipe. One to feed the header tank, and one for something else (in the case that the header tank is not supplying the water to be drawn at the taps, then I presume this second cold supply entering the cylinder is the water to be heated and drawn at the taps).

There are also two hot water pipes exiting the top of the cylinder body, also in 15mm pipe, which connect together and then T off into the hot inlet of a thermostatic mixing valve (the cold side of this mixing valve is supplied from the same cold water mains pipe that supplies the cylinder). The outlet of the mixing valve then obviously supplies the hot water to the property.