Search the forum,

Discuss Tempering valve as HW Cylinder too hot. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Ben-gee

Esteemed
Plumber
Solutions
HW Cylinder is gravity, heating pumped therefore HW gets to boiler temperature. System is such that controls would be difficult add so I hope to add a tempering valve at the HW cylinder take off. This needs to be 22-22-22, am I on the right track and can you recommend one. I guess these must be common now due to thermal stores but I have no experience of them.

HW Cylinder is gravity, heating pumped therefore HW gets to boiler temperature. System is such that controls would be difficult add so I hope to add a tempering valve at the HW cylinder take off. This needs to be 22-22-22, am I on the right track and can you recommend one. I guess these must be common now due to thermal stores but I have no experience of them.
Yes you can do that. That will be the most accurate way of controlling the Domestic hot water temperature in your situation.
The Cylinder should be at 60 deg C. What do you have it at now?

There not very good for tank supply

The cylinder has no controls so gets up to boiler temp, I measured it at a tap at 75 degC. I plan to fit on the 22mm hot coming out of the top of the cylinder before it goes anywhere. I thought to take a new dedicated cold feed in 22 from the CWS.
Yes it is on gravity open vented, do these not work well on this system?

I'd be more inclined to install the necessary controls to control the issue at the source.
All that wasted energy.

Fair point SimonG, I'm just thinking (not very hard by the look of it) at the moment. So far all over the phone and from memory, I installed an outside tap there a couple of years ago. I realise a visit is needed to have a proper look, I'm just considering theoretical options.

There not very good for tank supply