Search the forum,

Discuss Toilet coupling guidance rge plastic screws in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Could you guys part some of your wisdom for me, my daughter has moved into a house and the toilet inlet float is just catching the side of the cistern and sometimes does not fill. The inlet is the type where the float runs up and down the inlet mechanism. If I need to uncouple the cistern from the pan there looks to be two large plastic screws in the bottom of the cistern, do these just unscrew leaving the nuts behind as I have never worked on this type before it has always been the steel screws straight through that I have worked on. Any info greatly appreciated.

Any chance of a few pics

And have you tried just Turning the top part a bit so it doesn't catch ?

Any chance of a few pics

And have you tried just Turning the top part a bit so it doesn't catch ?
I am not at my daughters at the moment so cannot cannot take any pictures. Was a bit wary about trying to turn it but will try tomorrow.

No, they normally screw into metal wing nuts under the pan part of the cistern. However, if you are trying to rotate the inlet valve a bit, you shouldn't have to undo the cistern from the pan, although there are some where you do unless you have the right sized box spanner. The normal procedure would be:
1. Water off, hopefully at an isolation valve.
2. Slightly loosen pipe connection nut to inlet valve shank (say 1/2 turn)
3. Hold inlet valve and slightly loosen valve securing nut under cistern.
4. Rotate valve.
5. Hold valve firmly and re-tighten securing nut.
6. Still holding valve, re-tighten pipe connecting nut.