Search the forum,

Discuss Toilet leaking from cistern connection. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

stuco

Hi, this is probably a really basic thing, but I'm a complete novice.

Have connected a wall hung toilet to a Grohe rapid frame system. I'm using the connector supplied to connect cistern output to inlet on toilet. It looks like a tube with 3 rubber flanges on one end - sorry, don't know the technical term:eek:. Have cut it to size and pushed the flanged end into the back of the loo and the plain end into the frame side - this already has a ruuber o ring seal in.

When I flush the loo I'm getting water pouring from back of loo - not talking the odd drip here! Have flushed loo with a bucket of water and it seems dry so I'm assuming its not leaking from soil connector, but from the actual cistern connection. Although I can't see exactly where water is coming from, because of where its appearing, I'm guessing its from the toilet end of cistern connection.

Are these connections supposed to be sealed in somehow extra?

Thanks in advance.

no they are a simple push in connection,
make sure the pipe is not pushed too far into the pan.
the flush pipe is to go only the depth of the flush cone (rubber bung).
and dont stress the joint.

I had a similar problem fitting a concealed cistern toilet, it wasn't wall hung but the pan fitted flush to the framework when fitted. The water didn't gush out but after every flush a pool of water appeared from under the pan. It turned out to be a hairline crack in the pan somewhere just after the rubber bung.

i agree with redsaw a crack in the pan is rare more likely sparge pipe in to far or distorted rubber