Search the forum,

Discuss Tracer Gas - Drain or not? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've got a guy coming round who is going to try to trace a leak in my heating system using tracer gas (sealed system).
He said I don't need to drain the system, but if I want to I can drain half out. He's worried he might not have enough gas.
I have no experience of this, but I would have thought all liquid should be drained and the system pumped with gas only.
Can anyone who know about these things tell me what the truth is. Thanks.

I've got a guy coming round who is going to try to trace a leak in my heating system using tracer gas (sealed system).
He said I don't need to drain the system, but if I want to I can drain half out. He's worried he might not have enough gas.
I have no experience of this, but I would have thought all liquid should be drained and the system pumped with gas only.
Can anyone who know about these things tell me what the truth is. Thanks.

Hello venton,

Identifying leaks using Tracer Gas is usually an expensive proposition - usually on Commercial / Industrial systems where either the cost is not prohibitive in terms of the `value` of the system / Contract - or where it is covered / agreed by the Insurers.

I think that Systems would normally be specified to be fully drained - but from what you have been told probably the Tracer Gas would still find any Leak by escaping even if the system is only partially drained.

I take it as `obvious` that there are reasons why the Leak cannot be found by the `normal processes` - for example Pipework is running under floors / expensive flooring that cannot be accessed to check joints and where any Leak would be soaking into the ground under the Building - or similar circumstances - ?

I hope that You won`t mind me asking:

Is this Leak detection being carried out on your Home`s Heating system ?

Have they given You any idea of the Cost ?