Search the forum,

Discuss Unvented HW/CH system newbie advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, newbie here.

I'm after some guidance and advice regarding my system - I have an unvented HW tank heated by a Potterton Suprima boiler installed in the kitchen, HW cylinder in the loft. Used to be a vented system I think as the old boiler is still in the loft and there is evidence of things being changed around, plus I found the old header tanks in the garden whilst clearing it

First of all - can someone explain what pipes are feeding what from the pictures? My previous house was a combi system so I'm still trying to get my head around the system since moving in in July. I've marked a couple up after needing to change some taps.

How do know what pressure the CH is running at and if it's full?

Also, I'm going to start the decorating soon (yay...) and want to remove the radiators. Do I need to top the CH circuit back up like a combi system? Or are the HW and CH circuit linked? From what I've read I understand the boiler circuit is sealed from the tap feeds?

20171130_213723.jpg

20171130_213814.jpg

20171130_213801.jpg

Any chance of a pic of the cylinder?

Ta sorry to be a pain any chance of a pic of the new boiler ?

In your loft is there a little plastic tank ?

Y plan open vent by the look of it , the cylinder is a combination unit with a cold water storage tank on top there must be a small feed and expansion tank to fill and vent the heating somewhere the airjek and heating pipework layout is what identifies it. cheers kop

Ah ok cool thanks. I can hear the HW fill back up if I use any from the taps. Would there a separate feed for the CH and HW circuit?

Yes seperate feeds for heating and hot water each has its own tank supply feeding it . kop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Unvented HW/CH system newbie advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net