Search the forum,

Discuss Your biggest plumbing Blunders. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan Masey

Gas Engineer
During my first year as an apprentice i had to change a kitchen sink unit. In an early morning daze i turned off the stop tap under the sink, opened the cold taps and drained down the system ready to smash the rotten unit out. I then undone the bottom nut on the stop tap (25mm blue poly) and pulled off the stop tap. BOOM! 6 bar of freezing cold mains water pumping out and flooding the kitchen. The external stop tap was in the back garden somewhere under 3ft of overgrown grass. By the time i found it 5 mins had passed and water was now everywhere. oops. Guess we learn by our mistakes. Just wasn't thinking strait.

Got me thinking what other's have done? And be honest......

woops!! Me and my brother went to clear a blocked toilet. Lifted the manhole outside, but it must have been a rain water drain. It had about 5ft ten deep water in. It was a folding manhole lid. We was in a rush and wasn't useing keys, when we went to put it in place, we fumbled and dropped the lid down the drain. Woops. I know a guy in highways, so i called him, he said he would get it out for us, so we made safe and went down the pub. as we're laughing about it down the pub i get a call from my mate saying it's a private rd, he can't help us. So two pints later, i felt brave and went down the drain and scooped it out. But it was about 7pm, mid december. Coldest i've ever been, and i can tell you now, i'll never rush lifting manhole covers again!

During my ACS exam I couldn't get a boiler to fire up, the examiner was pulling funny faces in the direction of the boiler and eventually told me if I didn't figure it out in the next 2 minutes I'd have to leave.

Know what it was? I hadn't turned it on at the fused spur.

DOH!