Search the forum,

Discuss Acrylic bath needs sides of waste hole sealing? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mooncat

Hi I am new to this forum, I have been a fully qualified plumber for 10 years and I have years of experience in assessing insurance claims and investigating leaks/causes of leaks on behalf of insurers but I have never come across a leak from water travelling through the side of a waste hole in an acrylic bath through the fibre glass and then out of the underside a good 250mm away from the waste. The bath manufacturer says that the only part of the bath that is guaranteed as being water tight is the inside but not the sides of the waste hole and that the installer is responsible for sealing them by rubbing sealant into the edges!
Has anyone else ever come across this?

Atb,

Andy

Hi Surly the bath has delaminated around the waste, which providing the joint underside of the bath is ok suggests its a bath fault?

That is exactly what I said to the customer but the response from the manufacturer was that the edge of the waste hole was porous fibreglass and that the bath would leak if the plumber didn't seal the edge; apparently I was at fault for not sealing the cut edges of the waste hole? I fitted a new waste today and rubbed LSX into the edge of the hole and I told the customer again that I think the bath is not fit for purpose.

Am I going mad?

Hello Mooncat and welcome imho if the manufacturer cut the hole and did not seal it`s raw edges surely they would have covered their liability by stating that the installer must seal it in the instructions supplied with the bath good luck:)regards turnpin

Good point turnpin, and there was no mention of waste installation in the instructions! Have you ever come across this problem before?