Search the forum,

Discuss Advice please with sink plugs! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Eclef

Hi, I'm currently "living" with my decorator/plumber who has been renovating the house. He has just ordered and fitted some new bathroom taps that I paid relatively quite a lot for. I'm not very good with the technical language I'm afraid, but the plug hole part of the sink, is a push type - i.e. push it once to close it, push it again and it pops up.

The problem is that when the basin/bath contains water, and the plug is closed, over time the water slowly disappears. I guess it's escaping past the rubber ring where the plug and sink meet.

We mentioned it to our decorator, and he said that it's actually a good thing that water is slowly escaping, because we don't have an overflow hole in the sink. However, I am guessing that he just doesn't want to fit the taps and plugs again.

Can anyone offer some advice here - are they designed to do that? (I have problem believing that), or could they have been fitted badly (the decorator has done a very good job so far), or could I have just picked a bad make/style of tap? (he showed us a catalogue and said they were reputable).

Hope theres enough information here, really looking forward to any advice before I go and blindly order him to change them :)

Thanks in advance
E

generally it's not going past the rubber on the plug normally the sealing washer that seals the metal part to the china basin isn't big enough i always take that washer off & put loads of sealant around the hole in the basin then push the metal waste into it tighten it up underneath then clean off the sealant that has pushed out, leave it to dry before putting water into it, i'm not a great lover of these clik clac basin wastes as you have to put your hands back in the dirty water to release the plug then u have to wash em again u might as well not bother with the plug in the 1st place