Discuss AGA servicing coures / books ect ect in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

CXR100

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Thinking of doing my oftec so i can get some work servicing aga's. the guy that does it near me is giving it up due to old age, there is no one else doing it locally so was thinking of training up to do it, im allready a qualified plumber to nvq3 and have experience (been plumbing since i left school full time) but i have no experience in agas , only on oil boilers (pressure jet) . anybody know where i could get some decent training / books , videos ect ect or some training courses in agas/rayburns?? and are they that dificult to service/repair , compared to a combi ?? any info would be great! thanks

Have you looked on the oftec website for training establishments near you?

And good luck!

yes i know where the assesment will be just i would like to chanse it cluless jest with a certificate, would like to get some propper training or some good books, dvd's ect ect if you know what i mean, are agas and rayburns that dificult to service tho?

I'll be honest don't touch them myself. But oftec courses are engineered for you knowing nothing of the course in hand. I would just go to the manufacturers sites and download as many mi's as you can.

thats the way a lot of plumbers feel about them this way "i dont touch them" but i dont know why. there is a lot of them aroud this way aswell. have you heard that they are a nightmare to service or something?

Not much call for it over here tbh. I've been asked to look at 1 in the 8 years I've been here.

Aga's are a pain in the backside, which is why I don't do them and why Aga themselves charge about 140 for a visit. Why not approach the guy who's packing in?