Discuss Draining radiators on a communal heating system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

erichsonb

I have just moved into a block of flats with a communal heating and hot water system. It has a cold water tank in the loft and a hot water cylinder in the kitchen. I have a leaking radiator valve that I need to change. I've managed to turn flow and return stopcocks behind the tank in the kitchen which seems to have isolated the flat from the communal hot water system. The tank is now cold, but I do still have cold water coming out of the hot water taps. Is there anything else that I need to isolate before I drain the radiator pipework? As you have probably gathered I'm a complete novice and don't really understand how communal heating systems work. Would really appreciate any advice.

Thanks

The cold and hot supplies to the taps have nothing to do with the radiators. The central heating (radiator) system in a communal system will normally have water in it at all times.

There may be valves to turn off the supplies to your flat, but they will be on the heating pipes, not on the hot and cold supplies. If you can't find these valves, or there aren't any, or they are stuck, I'd suggest the job can't be done in the way you envisage it. Try asking your neighbours and / or the management company if there are valves, and if so, where they are.

If you do undertake the work yourself:

1. You will have to turn the water off to the heating circuit in your flat (see above for valves).

2. You will have to find a drain off point / valve and drain the water from the heating system. Turn off all the other radiators at both ends before draining. Make a note of the number of quarter turns necessary to close each valve, so that they can be opened the same amount when you refill.