Search the forum,

Discuss Halstead ace 30kw gurus please help!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

clemda1

Gas Engineer
Hi can I start by saying a big thank you to gasman and croppie for there assistance in getting into this forum.

i'M new to the boiler break down gig so please go easy..

I was called out to a Halstead ace 30kw Combi.
problem is no hot water or heating.

on a heating demand boiler only stays alight for 2-3 seconds then flame goes out.
So when there's a call for heat whether that be hot water or heating. Fan and pump engage APS then proves there ignition electrodes spark gas valve opens we have a flame but it only lasts for few second then goes out.

Changed the the flame sensing electrode. Made no difference. Spoke to a mate who suggested pcb. Customer is on a budget so we ended up getting the PCB reconditioned. The guys put old board on a jig that symulated the boiler sequence and all was ok.

Good for the board but I'm now back to square one. Also tested coninuity across the flame electrode leads. All ok.

Anyone have any suggestions where to look next.

Bit more info.

carried out standard electrical tests. Resistance to earth, polarity and Earth leakage all ok

Sent from my iPhone

Last edited:
you checked the high limit and ntc probes?

Hey Shaun, thanks for the interests.

As I said I'm fairly new to this diagnostics lark but learning fast. I was under the impression I could iliminate that these where at fault given the fan and pump run and the gas valve solenoid opens to fire the boiler and we ge a flame. If these where at fault the the boiler would not fire?
I did check them Anyway and got about 14k ohms on the ntc, high limit stat not checked not sure there is one but there is an over heat stat is this the same thing? But if these where faulty would the boiler still fire?

Last edited: