Search the forum,

Discuss Leaking Isolation valve in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi

Just had a new bathroom installed with a toilet bowl that reaches the back wall. Its has a bottom entry cold feed to the cistern.
The fitter put an isolation valve on the pipe work for this :-(, the copper pipe comes up from a plastic pipe push fit. See photo.
I did a tissue paper test and found a leak on this isolation valve before it was fitted. Pointed it out to the fitter and he took it off and put in PTFE tape on threads. He wouldn't take isolation valve off completely and replace with just pipe as he said he didn't have tool to remove pipe from push fit! Then he fitted the toilet.
Not being a plumber I did not know you could get a leak through the screw hole. But now I realise the leak was most likely from the screw hole as per photo below of water mark on plywood and it wasn't wet underneath nut but higher up on valve.
Fitter is (very) reluctantly coming back. I've asked him to change the valve in case its the screw hole. Took independant advice and was told new isolation valves can leak through screw hole and it should be changed.
I've not used toilet yet but has been flushed.
He will have to unscrew from wall/ floor and pull toilet forward to reach valve. This will disconnect waste pipe, will water go everywhere or only a little bit when it disconnects?
Also should I buy a more expensive isolation valve to give him to make sure it doesn't leak again? Any advice much appreciated.
IMG_1421.PNG

Tbh sounds like the fitters problem also if you can’t access the valve what’s the point in it being there I’m guessing you have a back to wall toilet / pan ?

For £1.39 might be worth buying them and give him them :D

https://www.NoLinkingToThis/p/hep2o-10-28mm-hepkey-plus-set/5222j

Tbh sounds like the fitters problem also if you can’t access the valve what’s the point in it being there I’m guessing you have a back to wall toilet / pan ?