Search the forum,

Discuss Mixing pipe sizes - total noob in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

washedout

Please help. Whilst I am a plumbing noob, I can turn my hand to most things - especially if I'm given a bit of advice along the way, and I'm hoping this is where you guys come in :)

We live on a really small, really remote little island. Our spring has dried up, so I am trying to cobble together a rain water system that is safe enough to shower in. Because of the weather this time of year, it's not really feasible to get a plumber over, although I can occasionally make sorties to the mainland to get supplies for an hour or two once every two or three or weeks when there is a break in the weather. And I like challenges like this, its fun. Anyway, onto the task at hand:

So far, I've got (or have on order)

* 1500 litre water tank filled with nice fresh rainwater, and a balloon float and filter which terminates in a G1 female fitting (brass, submerged).

* A 30 PSI, 12 litre/min pump with 1/2" male connections (plastic) - used these pumps before, they need flexi tails as they vibrate a bit

* A UV treatment lamp with 3/4" BSP female connections (stainless)

This needs to tee into an existing plastic feed from the spring, which is gravity fed from a holding tank up on the hill. (The spring fed supply will be turned off when this supply is in use; the spring is now dry anyway). By the time the spring supply enters the house its in a grey plastic pipe which I think is close (or actually is) 1" diameter. This pipe was fitted 14 months ago, so it's will be whatever is in vogue for internal fresh water use?

My very basic questions are: what is the best way to join this stuff together. Plastic pipe? Copper pipe? How do I best go about matching the differences in pipe sizes? What are the google-able names of the bits I need to buy?