Search the forum,

Discuss New business, new to forum. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

plumberpaul83

Hi everyone.

I'm a plumber that's been in the game for 10 years now and have decided to start up on my own.

One thing that I'm struggling to find out is how much the going hourly rate is. I don't want to be greedy but on the other hand I don't want to be too cheap. A fair middle of the road price is what I'm looking for. If anyone could help it would be much appreciated. From what Iv'e seen so far it seems to vary a lot depending on the area of the country. I am based in north Leeds so any information on rates in this area would be particularly useful.

Thanks in advance, Paul.

welcome to the big wide world of running a business. I've just started up myself back in April, based in East Leeds. competition already lol. how are you finding it going, im still trying to establish a basic hourly rate. I normally price a job on its own merits.

Thanks everyone. I'm just in the process of starting up so getting leaflets out and advertising. Got a bit of subcontracting to my old firm for now until I get my own work going. It's hard to know a price that's competitive without undercutting everyone so just trying to ask around where I can to get an idea.

Have you managed to find plenty work since you started Macca?

Welcome and best of luck PlumberPaul83. Can be the best job in the world and the worst job in the world as you would know. Ditto for self employment, but I wouldn't want to work for an employer again (not that any employer would take me on, but that's beside the point.)