Discuss Novice plans to install new central heating system. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tom Jones

Hi, I am a newbie to the forum, with a question about installing a new central heating system. My background is as a fairly experienced DIY'er and time served electrician.

I've just purchased a 1970's bungalow, which needs a full internal refurb.

With a limited budget for the refurb, but quite a lot of spare time to get involved, I'm considering installing most of the new central heating system for the bungalow myself.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts or comments on the basic plan set out below?

My outline plan is to first of all strip out everything that's not needed from the building, including removal of the old single pipe system central heating system. I would obviously be very careful around the boiler/gas supply area and not touch any of this section. I would bring in a qualified engineer to remove the old boiler and fit the new one, connect up and test etc. 'nuff said.

The next step would be to work out boiler output ( combi/condenser boiler, sealed system, wall mounted in kitchen cabinet ) and radiator sizes from an online guide, including btu allowance for a Mira mixer shower, plus pump, pipework lengths and all valves/fittings needed. Shop around and look for a good balance between quality and price.

I'm considering going down the route of a 28mm copper feed and return up into the loft space, ( the bungalow has all solid floors ) directly to a wall mounted 8 way manifold within the loft space ( 6 rads, 1 towel rail, one spare outlet for future expansion ). Then run individual supply and return to each rad/fixture in flexible plastic pipe. Heat and timing control would be via Thermostatic valves on each rad and the built in timer for CH and DHW etc. via the integral boiler controls.