Search the forum,

Discuss Poor pressure on the hot water! Pressure tank to boiler basic set up on a boat in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

robertstewart22

I'm an Englishman living in Sweden on a house boat with a simple set up. My old pump died so last night I installed a nice new Gardena 5000/5 eco pump (pressure tank unit). The boiler is made by Tesy.

Before changing pumps everything with the water was fine! Now with the new pump the pressure on the cold water is great! On the hot water it comes out slow, spits and splatters, and at times what looks like smoke comes out (I think it's air). When the shower was running, the boiler began to whistle! Sometimes the water runs yellow, and the cold water is sometimes running luke warm instead of cold!

I'm assuming (and hoping) I've simply got air in the boiler and need to bleed it! I've never done that before and I'm not sure about what all the knobs do on the pipework on the boiler. I played with them when there was no pump fitted and the boiler was drained, but I'm worried to start turning things now everything's connected and running! I didn't fit any stop cocks (budget restraints! Maybe I should reconsider).

Hot side-

• Black knob furthest to the left has the text 'armature 9bar' on it as well as directional arrows. It unscrews maybe just half a turn to reveal a small void (for bleeding?).
  • Above this knob is a brass screw on piece piece with a ring (washer) inside. It isn't closed off, so I can stick my finger in it and feel water! I may be wrong, but I thought the ring (washer) was at first inside the main structure. Now I can't fit it in, so am sitting it inside the screw on piece instead, meaning it doesn't screw down as far! This seems very strange!!