Search the forum,

Discuss Replace combi - new flue needed? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Glaflyer

Hi,

Newbie here - just found this forum so I hope someone can help.

I have a flat with a 5/6 year old Saunier Duval combi gas boiler which causes continuing problems. I have been loking into replacing this with a new more reliable boiler.

I had a visit from a local firm to look at it. He said that to install a Baxi boiler would need a new flue. The existing flue runs horizontally from the boiler through a "box" which is part of the ceiling of a bedroom to an outside wall which is six stories above ground level. So the work would need to take down part of the bedroom ceiling and would need scaffolding up to the 6th floor to access the outlet. The flat is in a modern block built some 5 to 6 years ago. So the work would be disruptive and expensive.

Is there any type of boiler I could use which would minimise the disruption and expense of replacing the existing flue?

Thanks in advance

Martyn

Hi and welcome,

"old Saunier Duval combi gas boiler which causes continuing problems"

No surprises there then!

So what you are saying is that the current boiler vertically flued ?

Unless there is a suitable location on an outside wall that will permit the boiler to be sited there then you will have to site the new boiler in the same place and install a new vertical flue at the extra expense I'm afraid.

Difficult to advise without seeing the property of course :)

Oh and dont forget the new boiler will be condensing so you need to make sure there is a suitable drain/waste for the condensate to run into.

Last edited:
Hi,

Thanks for your quick reply.

No the flue currently runs horizontally from the cupboard with the boiler, through the bedroom (along the ceiling) to the outside wall (6 stories up). The building is 8 stories high.