Search the forum,

Discuss Starting out. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SHINTO

Alright lads, I was just wondering if anyone could help me out. I have a Nvq 2 in plumbing and Nvq 3 in domestic gas, I've been working in the industry for about 3 or 4 years now, mostly bits of agency work, working with friends here and there and some jobs I have got myself. All of this was basically aiming towards getting my quals as I was in college full time and now I have them I'm finding it hard to get anything permanent. I didnt do an apprenticeship, I just went to college and did as much work as I could when I could. My question is how did you guys break into the industry, and do you have any advice?

Im going thru the same thing as we speak, ive had some good advice from guys on here and im in the middle of applying for a start up grant and going at it myself, only domestic plumbing with no gas, but from the advice ive gained on here and advice ive had from friends and my business mentor only thing i need to do is get the customer base and i think i will do fine

so far i have made a business page on facebook, printed flyers and posted them round my local area, the Maine thing you need to do is put your name on the map, if people dont know about you your not going to get far, im ramming my business name down peoples throats every 5 mins (in a nice way) its all about getting your name out there m8 once you done a few jobs your reputation will get about

i wish you luck you have a lot of hard work ahead of you but you will only become what you put into it :)