Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss V I Y 10 week plumbing course in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

andee.c

Hi, am a newbie to the forum and just want to ask some advice, i'm 42 and just in the process of being made redundant. i live in west london and would like to retrain as a plumber, i have made enquiries about a few courses and the 2 that i like the sound of is the plumbing academy and V I Y plumbing training. the reason i'm considering v i y is because they claim to certify you with your city and guilds 6129 and also your NVQ 6089 as well as your bpec part p is this bull or is this for real? has anyone trained here and what were they like?

I trained there. The part p, water regs and unvented all have an additional cost. It was a couple of years ago. but the course claimed to be full time 9-5pm. It was more like 9.30 - 4pm. With long breaks where the tutor wouldnt come back on time for ages. And finish at 12pm on friday. So if you count the amount of hours we lost learning it would be shocking. It taught me the basics, but not enough to go out and work. To be fair the facilities are quite good there

Andee.c

I was in a similar situation and went to VIY for my training.
I started (and it would seem finished) the VIY class of jan 09 thread if you want to discuss anything about the options PM me and I'll answer any questions you have about my time there.
Good Luck
SP

I have also just finished the 10 week viy course with suburban plumber, again if you want to send me a pm i will answer all your questions you may have.