Search the forum,

Discuss Water venting into header tank in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi Guys

I’m no expert so excuse the question if I’ve done something wrong.

I noticed some persistent noises happening with my heating. I therefore decided to use the 3 stage fernox fluids. F3 then F1 then F2. This meant that I had to completely drain system and refill a couple of times. I understand I’ve got some weird inverted system as it took ages to drain the system and I only have a small header thank integrated and above the tank. (Nothing in loft and hot water is mains fed by with mixer)

Since draining and refilling system I have water periodically venting into the header thank and the pump stops at same time and restarts. I have captured a video at the exact moment this happens (attached with pics). I have bled all rads and the pump itself and all Rads are hot.

Is there anywhere else I’ve missed needing bleeding. Is that vertical pipe from the motorised valve anything needing opening (what is it)? Is there anything else that could be causing this venting?

Attachments

• 9E14CDAB-E056-4C64-8CCE-43E9213729A0.jpeg
    9E14CDAB-E056-4C64-8CCE-43E9213729A0.jpeg
    464.1 KB · Views: 27
  • 094C4ECE-C784-488E-9655-493E98EA6373.jpeg
    094C4ECE-C784-488E-9655-493E98EA6373.jpeg
    448.6 KB · Views: 28
  • FF5273B9-DCA9-4B8D-91ED-D038013C1331.jpeg
    FF5273B9-DCA9-4B8D-91ED-D038013C1331.jpeg
    299.9 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_4906.MOV
    18.2 MB
Can't play the video, the "small" tank that you are talking about is I think part of the HW cylinder (cold water supply) and should have nothing to do with the venting problem, or maybe there is another smaller open tank above the HW CWST (green) tank, if so post a photo of this and any pipework.