Search the forum,

Discuss Will a PRV solve this? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pompeyblue

Hi everybody

I'm a newbie so please be gentle!
first off I'm not a plumber but can do the basic plumbing jobs, but am stuck with something that I hope you can help with before I buy any parts.

Our thermostatic shower is rubbish. It won't mix well at all, and never has!
the plumber that installed it over a year ago has vanished...
And it's got to the point that I need to sort it. At first I thought maybe the cartridge had failed so replaced that and the washer which the manufacturer recommended. Still it's either super hot or super cold! (The thermostat button was actually broken so it need need replacing).
it seems to me that the cold water has more pressure that the hot so they dot mix that well and small turns make massive changes in temperature.
The hot water comes from the combo with the cold mains fed. If I fit a PRV on the cold below the shower will that make any difference? Or maybe a PEV?.
Anything I can check also?

Thanks for your help!

I think in the first instance you should try a a single check valve on the hot pipework leading to the mixer as it would seem the pressure of the cold is pushing the hot back up the pipe. However I would have thought that the pressures were balanced if coming from a combi. Might be worth doing a pressure test to check to check for any in balance then fit PRV to bring them in line as you have suggested.

Your plumber should have checked the pressures before fitting a thermostatic - it may have been better to have a simple mixer if the pressures are that different.

it may be good to work out what they are before trying anything else as it seems like you have been pouring money into this one . . . . .

Are you sure your hot supply is from a combi as this would mean that pressure should be fine (unless it is a very old combi!)