Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Are you on a "fast track?" in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Chris W

Hello there

I am a plumbing tutor and NVQ assessor in an FE college. I would be interested to hear from you in this thread if you are on a so called "fast track" or similar qualification. In particular I would like to know:

What organisation are you currently studying with

What exact qualification you will be getting at the end of the course and who the awarding body is. (eg City and Guilds 6129)

Cost (if that isnt being too nosey)

How long the course lasts, is it practical, theory or a mix of both.

Are you satisfied with the course and do you feel it will equip you to go out and find work

Why you chose a commercial company over a traditional college

Do you feel like you are really learning a skill or just learning how to pass an exam and jump through the hoops

I would also ask that if you happen to be a student of mine, please dont post who I am or which college I am from as they take a dim view of the college being discussed in public without their consent :) Thanks in advance!

Hello Chris,

I'm on a fast track course qualifications I get are (providing I pass) C & G 6089, 6029, Part P, B Pec level 3 Unvented Hot Water, Water Regs and energy efficiency.

I paid approx £5600 plus VAT. The company is VIY in leeds and lasts for 10 weeks, accommodation is included on the course plus tools and material. I looked into many other courses but VIY not only offered the qualifications but the company director was enthusiastic and I felt his course was the best on the market (and still do).