Discuss Correct way to connect two compression fittings in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Apologies for the stupid question, I'm just a newbie playing under the sink.
I have an isolation valve and an elbow, both of which have compression fittings that would normally fix to copper pipe.
I need to connect both together directly. What is the correct fitting to do this? Surely I don't have to use a short length of pipe?
Many thanks for any advice.

Alternatively you can buy an angled isolating valve. 44D85E59-121B-413A-8EAC-92462769FECB.jpeg

How else did you think it would connect, plumber’s magic?
Well I thought that as it must be a fairly regular requirement there might have been a specific fitting to use. It would have made sense and a neater job instead of bits of pipe. But now I've learnt firstly that that's not the case and secondly, that in order to avoid sarcastic comments, I wont visit this site again with beginners questions, I'll go elsewhere. Thanks for the heads up. Oh and thanks to the two previous answers from the grownups.

@JackGr - instead of throwing your toys out of the pram, why not consider that people here are giving you free advice, and if that comes with a bit of mockery, so be it? Here we're among friends and a bit of gentle sarcasm can be par for the course. Had Undertrained answered you with his/her comment immediately, I would be on your side, but as your question had already been comprehensively answered, I don't really agree that Undertrained was out of line.

To give you a serious answer, most of us wouldn't use a compression elbow at all as you describe: we'd prefer to pull a bend or use a soldered elbow, so your situation occurs rarely. You could try to use a double-female iron instead of a short bit of pipe, but it would be an expensive bodge that might not really work, and plumbers always have a short bit of pipe. This is why there isn't a specific fitting available.