Search the forum,

Discuss Distance From Flue Terminal to a Chimney? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

wild nomad

Hi there!

I'm studying on my gas engineer course at the moment and I'm immersing myself into the world of Flues. Looking at the distance tables I can't see anything about how far away a flue terminal has to be from a chimney that's connected to an open fire. Is the chimney just generally regarded as an 'opening'?

Anyone out there have any conclusive answer to this question?

Thanks in advance

Mike :D

I would have to look back at the books but the distance will change depending on the orientation of the flue to the chimney. Above, below, beside, facing etc. Im not sure if I am permitted by forum rules to post that information on the open forum. The information you require should be in your study material. Why dont you ask your tutor? I would consider a chimney another flue. Unless it presents a large brick surface in which case the measurements with regards to flues facing a wall may come in to play or if the fire was gas and terminated at a ridge terminal I am pretty sure the regs stipulate distance to ridgetile vents specifically. Give your material another good read over and not just the tables. Decide what you think it should be and why, then approach your course peers and tutor with your query and your understanding. If it is not entirely correct I am sure they will let you know.

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Distance From Flue Terminal to a Chimney? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

E
Hi all, Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere but I can't find an answer to my questions. I have a back boiler and gas fire which h has been serviced regularly over the years by different engineers with no issues. Last time , the guy wanted to condem it due to not being compliant with...
Replies
Views