Search the forum,

Discuss fitted ballcock in attic water tank but still overflowing in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sun4

Hi there,

I have just fitted a new ballcock in water tank in loft but tank is filling too full and overflowing (reason for repalcing old ballcock). Have I done something wrong? Have tried bending arm down but to no avail. Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance.

I'm a complete novice at this - as you can probably tell - what open vent? Sorry to be so thick.

No problems.

Well if the plastic tank you mentioned is the one that feeds the central heating (i.e the smaller one of the two) then it could be "pumping over" a term that means there is a fault in the system and the water is "pitching" back into the tank via the looped "swans neck" of pipe that goes over and into the tank.

Alternatively if it is the bigger of the two tanks (the cold water storage) tank which feeds amongst other things the hot water cylinder; then your fault could lie with a similar problem. If the immersion heater has a fault, and is over heating the water in the cylinder, then the open vent will pitch the extra volume created by the heating of the water back into the tank.

However before we jump ahead of ourselves, ensure that your water level shuts off when the valve's arm is raised at the level you have set it too (which should be a couple of inches below the over flow).

Of course the other thing could be that you have a split in the coil of your hot water cylinder...this is pretty easy to diagnose too. However as a novice you will need to call a plumber.

Last edited:
Thanks for info. Water level just keeps rising above overflow outlet when I turn water on - it's the larger cold water tank - despite me pushing float arm down. Is there something else I should be adjusting?

So its the actual valve that won't shut off? Even if you manually pull the ball arm up?