Search the forum,

Discuss Hot pulling air through open vent. in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, I'm new to the forum and just some background on myself. I have 4 years experience as a plumber but haven't worked in the trade in 15 years. I would say my overall knowledge is not great as I did most of the 4 years working on rinse and repeat estates of houses. I was also quite young and uninterested!

I'm having some trouble with the hot on an open vented system (I have little to no experience in these) and I'm hoping to get some input please.

The attached diagram is the current pipework layout. In diagram 1, you can see there are offsets and bends as well as the pipes are running parallel to the rafters. If you were to look in at the pipework as the arrow indicates you would see what is shown in diagrams 2 and 3. In diagram 2, the hot to taps runs horizontally across the wall before dropping down below the floor to feed the bathrooms. In diagram 3 the vent runs across the attic (rising continuously) to terminate in the cold water tank.

I'm having an issue with the 3/4" hot feed to the bath, in that it is pulling air in through the open vent. The 1/2" hots are working fine.

My main question here is, must the vent and hot to taps run vertically up and down for this system to work? i.e. is my problem being caused by the fact that the pipes are running parallel to the rafters and also the horizontal run on the hot to taps?

Thanks in advance, and apologies for the long post.
IMG_20231229_173555.jpg

If your drawing in air from the vent line then you must either be running out of cold water into the cylinder or there's a restriction, maybe scale in the hot elbow above the cylinder or the junction with the vent to taps line.

I'd guess that if you ran all the 1/2" taps at the same time you'd probably draw air through the highest 1/2" tap.