Search the forum,

Discuss How do I isolate on an Aga heated hot water system? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

dan_the_plumber

Gas Engineer
I'm a plumber, been asked fit shower in customers house where hot water is supplied by Aga.
I had planned on isolating cold water supply to hot water storage tank and then drawing off some hot water unitll hot supply stops.
However then i found this advice on your website:
The water supply to the house is to be off for a short while. What should we do?
The AGA may be left on, preferably turned down low. Do not draw any hot water off.
I wondered why i should not draw off hot water?
If i cant do that how do i isolate the hot supply?
Can i turn the aga off? How do I re-light it?
Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated
Thanks very much...Dan

Turn off demand via the stat on aga, let cool. Temparary isolate fuel supply, still Letting it cool. Buy a freezing kit, use a plumbers freind kit, cut a gate valve into pipe work, and happy days. THIS IS PROVIDING ITS OIL OR GAS OR YOUR QUICK ON SOLIDS
The question you asked about not being able to turn off cold water supply to drain, is that if it is soild fuel, and that the fire is stoked, and you drain the system, there is no stat to control heat at the boiler and can cause boiler in aga to split, boil like youve never heard before and causing ...........................................................