Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)
  • Thread starter Andrew Hansell
  • Start date
  • Replies 9
  • Views 2K

Discuss near completion of tech cert 6129 in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Andrew Hansell

I am currently studying towards my c and g 6129 tech cert and was wondering if rather than asking for a plumbing apprenticeship straight away would it be a good idea to get experience on site as a plumbers mate on a site with a construction agency then going private to get nvq.Does anyone think this would work or would it just be a dead end labouring route.I am 34 and really disgruntled with the government approach to just funding 16 -19 year olds when all they want to do is mess about.

I am currently studying towards my c and g 6129 tech cert and was wondering if rather than asking for a plumbing apprenticeship straight away would it be a good idea to get experience on site as a plumbers mate on a site with a construction agency then going private to get nvq.Does anyone think this would work or would it just be a dead end labouring route.I am 34 and really disgruntled with the government approach to just funding 16 -19 year olds when all they want to do is mess about.

government does fund 19+ just not as much as 16-19

do you have cscs/ jib-pmes card, need this to work on building sites.

my opinion is you really need to get out there and speak to plumbers, try pubs where plumbers go quite often, road side cafes, outside plumbing centres, send letters i.e.

bit undecided wether its best to offer yourself as plumbers mate or apprenticeship job. would make a difference if people asked me for a plumbers mate job for once rather then always asking for an apprenticeship.