Discuss Newbie with Baxi Solo 2 problem in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

onyourbike

Hi all, first post.
Found your site while searching for info about my Baxi.
My Baxi Solo 2 makes a rather loud noise after it's been on for a couple of hours, the noise is like blowing across the top of a bottle, it gets loader the longer it's on. It takes about 15 seconds after the boiler ignites then the howling starts. The noise seems to come from the pipes as if it's the water. I did notice that allot of the heat exchanger fins have broken up where the flames touch.
Is this some sort of hot spots or air traps causing the water to boil, any advice or thoughts would be great.
Cheers Mike

I am by no means an expert but i rekon you need a new heat exchanger as you have splits/holes in it..

Hi peteisfishing, when you say "splits/holes" do you mean internal to the heat exchanger or to the outside as there's no visible leaks.
Feel happier now someone else thinks it's the h.exchanger, maybe wait until the warmer weather to replace.
Cheers Mike

Before you go down that route (new h/exc) I would check a few other things out first, try adjusting the pump speed and see if that make any difference, lots of other things it could be.
cheers Martin

Since this problem started last winter, I've changed the pump speed, re-balanced the radiators, flushed the system, added additives, replaced the boiler fan, pump and diverter valve (replaced for other reasons). I thought the problem had gone away over the summer. Maybe it's time to call someone in but I like to sort these things out myself.

"expensive way of doing things " Pump was leaking, diverter valve had stuck over the summer, boiler fan was noisy in it's own right. Installed this sytem about 8 years ago and now have had to change a few parts, not cost allot really :).

my point was you have a fault
you dont know what it is
you have changed a load of parts