Search the forum,

Discuss No hot water on what I believe to be a gravity system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kyle

Hi all, as you can tell im new to this, bear with me,,,

Ok, I have no hot water.
The radiators are piping hot.
I have a room stat but no cylinder stat.
The boiler is a back boiler with 28 mm pipework going to cylinder.
I can see the pump, it works and I believe this is for the radiators.
I cant see any type of valve but there is a section that is boarded off leading from boiler in front room up wall under floor behind more boxed off section to cylinder.
When I ask for hot water I get nothing.
When I ask for hot water both pipes to/from the cylinder remain cold but the 28mm near the boiler are hot and other slightly less hot. Pipes to the pump is red hot.

What do you think, like i said im new, thx to anyone that can help...

do you have rads upstairs? , you defo have a gravity hot water system with pumped heating , and it sounds like the header tank is empty or cold feed blocked ,

Maybe the diverter valve is broke, is there a mid position valve that is stuck?

Thx for advice, I cant remember if there were rads upstairs, it isnt my boiler.
I too was thinking ball valve stuck, block in cold feed,possibly the gate valve stuck etc but it seems open, i was gonna loosen flow pipe into cylinder to see whats there,air or water.....
Thx, keep info coming in, very usefull.....

I cant see any valves at all anywhere, unless theyr hidden?, i dont think so though

What do you lot think of the threads that advise removing the phial for a short time to boil away the air lock?, sounds very risky to me,,,,,

I dont see any valve anywhere , would it have a valve if it was gravity dhw, no cylinder stat.

No kyle it wouldn,t !! don,t know why people keep suggesting valves as you have stated that there is none.

Ahh can you remove the cover at all so you know exactly the layout ?