Discuss Plumbing done in home rented out in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sharon_goddard

Hi,

My sister and I own a house which we rent out, the letting agents called in a plumber to get the kitchen sink unblocked. He apparently used industrial strength drain unblocker. At the time there was a small leak which was fixed a short while later by another plumber. But there is damage to the kitchen unit. The letting agent says its water damage but we think the damage is due to the chemical used. So my question is in two parts. 1) Should industrial strength drain unblocker be used in a kitchen sink and 2) is the damage caused by the chemicals or only water damage as the letting agent has suggested. Photo attached of the damage.

Thanks for any advise on this as both my sister and I have no experience in plumbing an we are not sure if we are being mugged off.

Attachments

• damage to kitchen unit.jpg
    damage to kitchen unit.jpg
    130 KB · Views: 169
If the leak hadn't been there in the first place, the industrial strength drain cleaner would not have been able to leak out onto the cupboard.

And to answer your other question, "industrial strength" is mainly a marketing gimmick. There are some seriously powerful chemical unblockers available to the general public.

Last edited by a moderator:
Not the plumbers fault he had to do what he had to do he fixed your problem you have old pipe work that leaked and the stain from the "industrial cleaner" isnt exactly the end of the world as most under sink cabinets are covered in stains from storing cleaning products it might of even been there before he got there

Thanks for the advice I will advise my sister as she deals with the property.

Everyone blames the plumber! As he said there must be other things to worry about.