Search the forum,

Discuss Poor quality pipe work leading to gully in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A few days ago I posted a thread about a broken rainwater gully ( which I thought was called a hopper). I enclose a link to photos of the pipework draining into this. Is it me, or is this substandard work? If you have two downpipes for rainwater, wouldn't you drain one into the other in order to minimise the number of pipes at the outlet? I'm not an expert, but it looks very amateurish to me.

Stivulya / Стивуля

Depends on the volume of water going down the pipes. Yours appear to be draining two valley gutters, so could have quite high volumes of water each from both sides of a large pitched roof. If the pipes couldn't contain the flow, they'd back up and the gutters would overflow. It would have been neater looking to take the right hand pipe into its own gulley connected to the drainage system, but there may well be good reasons why this was not done.

If you want to make it look better, consider changing the white pipes for black ones (or painting the pipes) as black looks less conspicuous. May require freeholder's consent.

Thanks steadyon. It's not mine - it's the neighbour's. 6 students live in the house, formerly a 3-bedroom, like mine. The owner, apparently lives 30 miles away, and I've never met him. I suspect a new gully wasn't installed purely on financial grounds. It's not the look of it that interests me, it's the fact that 3 separate pipes have to drain into the gully, making it a bit crowded.

Thanks for sharing the entire photo album with us Steve :oops:

Just waiting now for somebody to pass comment on the flue near the window in IMG_0091 :eek:

Looks too close to call but think its just in (within regs)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Poor quality pipe work leading to gully in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics