Discuss Question regarding CCN1 in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

R.Oak

Hi guys, great forum here can see myself coming back very often. I have a question regarding getting on the 'Gas Safe' register.

I'm currently a self employed plumber, I hold the NVQ Level 2 in Mechanical Engineering services (100/3284/8) and Basic Plumbing studies (100/3356/7). I am looking to press on and get my 'Gas Safe' registration.

The problem I have is as a general plumber I do not have much experience with working on gas systems. I am given to understand that to sit my CCN1 assessments I am required to first have a portfolio of gas work I have completed. As a self employed plumber this is difficult to obtain because naturally I cannot touch anything gas related.

Im wondering if anyone else has encountered this problem and what would be the best way to proceed from here. Is there a course in which I can build my portfolio at the test centre under the supervision of a qualified instructor?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Rich

There are some training centres/colleges who can organise a portfolio as part of your course, shop around, what area are you in?
PS when deciding who to book with, pick someone who GUARANTEES to GET you a placement, not someone who GUARANTEES to TRY to get you a placement, the devil is in the detail of the contract you will sign and pay for, and one will end in tears of frustration, and will leave you no recourse from them

There are some training centres/colleges who can organise a portfolio as part of your course, shop around, what area are you in?
PS when deciding who to book with, pick someone who GUARANTEES to GET you a placement, not someone who GUARANTEES to TRY to get you a placement, the devil is in the detail of the contract you will sign and pay for, and one will end in tears of frustration, and will leave you no recourse from them