Discuss Reasons for premature circulator failure? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

alex

Good Evening Gents,
Just wondering if any one can shed light on a little problem i'm having with a system.
about 10 months ago i changed a grundfoss pump on a pressurized Ch system (with a megaflo cylinder), as it was completely dead, pump was in a virtually brand new condition inside and customer said system was new 18 months previously. Replaced with a Salus MP200 which has today also packed in after only 10 months, again impeller spins free, power is getting to the pump but its dead. Im thinking the motors might be burning out due to an electrical issue but i'm no electrician? what are the possible causes for premature pump failure? the rest of the system seems in good working order. Looking forward to your ideas and thanks for your help.

alex

To my knowledge (which isnt a lot),

1.I can think of poor quality pumps,
2.electrical fault
3.pump jamming because of obstruction (debris in the pipework)
4.Pump over spinning due to air in system
5.pump having to work too hard as system is like treacle (sludging)
6.Incorrect wiring so pump is constantly running

Im sure there is more reasons but thats what comes to mind.

To my knowledge (which isnt a lot),

1.I can think of poor quality pumps,
2.electrical fault
3.pump jamming because of obstruction (debris in the pipework)
4.Pump over spinning due to air in system
5.pump having to work too hard as system is like treacle (sludging)
6.Incorrect wiring so pump is constantly running

1,3,5 i agree these are the most likely! does system need a bigger pump?

If there is power to the pump and it turns on and off when it should can't see it being an electrical issue. On a system that is 18 months old what was it changed from was it previously open vented. Was it power flushed etc.

I think I'd be looking at sludge or general debris thats not been washed out....