Discuss RIELLO oil fired boiler fan burned out, losing ht spark when light on photocell in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tiprat

new member here after a bit of advice.
i'm a service engineer for high pressure washers so oil fired systems i am used to.

I have a problem with an oil fired garage heating system using a Riello oil burner and flame failure device.
i think the riello burner is a MECTRONIC 100000 btu , there's no identification on it so its hard to identify , all rusty etc .approximately from the 80s looking at the nameplate on the heater.

it has a 480 se flame control device on it type 12OTO. with a large photocell.

problem is that the blower fan burnt out, i have changed the blower fan for a universal blower fan as we use on pressure washers. the original one had two windings with 3 wires brown blue and black,with the capacitor leads coming from the control box.

the control box had a dry joint on the main solenoid coil which is why the fan motor burnt out, i have resoldered the dry joint.

On testing with the burner head off if i keep the photocell in the dark the unit trips off in 5 secs as it should.
What i cant understand is when testing the burner photocell by shining a torch onto the photocell just as the fuel solenoid opens, which in my experience should tell the unit that everything is ok and keep running, the HT turns off and the fuel solenoid stays on. if i remove the torch from the photocell the HT returns.

I havent actually tried the burner back on the machine as yet as i want to make sure its ok.

is it because of fitting the universal blower fan or is it the control box that is faulty, it is a pretty basic control box.

any suggestions as to what to test and which way to go please.