Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Screw for meter test point? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, newbie here. Just wondering if anyone knows of a stockist in the newcastle area where I can get spare meter test point screws from? I can see BES sell a complete test nipple with 1/8 inch thread but noticed a previous post on here which said it was not the correct size. These things seem to be on a mission to get lost!

just call out the providers they do them free,or bes the best bet

Thanks for the reply, I have done this recently as I had a screw snap on me. Just thought that it might be useful to have a few on the van in case of just misplacing the original. Seems a lot of hassle and delay for the sake of one screw! BES only sell a 1/8th size test nipple and screw together (unless I am blind!), is this definitely compatible? Also I am not looking at replacing the whole nipple, just the screw.

When I had one snap, I just called out transco who sorted it out. Not sure where you buy them from though.

If it snaps I definitely will call them out, this is just if I lost the screw when carrying out tightness test for example. I have dropped a couple on to flower bed / lawn before and spent a worrying few minutes trying to find them, if I had of stood on it and buried it I would never have got it back.

Over the piece you need to call out the supplier for various reasons. When the guy arrives hawk some meter spares off him. I always found them helpful that way.

Cheers guys, I will try it on with the BG engineer should it ever happen again! I guess these aren't over the counter items. Thanks for the advice.