Search the forum,

Discuss Swapping joist in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Millsy 82

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
I went out to a toilet today and the customer said you might need to change the floor board as well as it has got a bit wet.

Well that was the understatement of the century I stood on the floor and it sank by about 2". So I ripped the floor up and had a look and the 1 joist has started rotting, so I said you need to get that replaced before I can do anything.

She has then asked me if I can do it. I said I've never done one before but will have a look.

It's only a short joist about 5 ft long and looks like it's been bodged before ( a massive great hole either end not patched up and a bit of 2x2 between the affected one and the joists either side) should it just be a case of cut old out and slide new ones in the holes and then patch up around it?

Replacing joists is easy, I've done a hole house, repairing parts and replacing entire floors,
Cut the old joist out and then slide the new one in (tantalised is best) but you may have to open one end up buy making the hole bigger above the original hole to get the joist in, then use slate to pack the joist level and sand&cement in place, then noggin between for extra support

That or you can use a big heavy duty joist hanger at one end but its best if you can avoid that if possible

db6302a070cf7d265ecbf564a53942df.jpg

That's the only one I took of the joist itself

I want to try and avoid that if I can help it.

You can always cut the joist so that is the size of the gap +one hole should be 4" roughly, then put a joist hanger either end and slide the joist so that its lapping into both holes by the same amount plus the just hanger to give you a full 4" support

not even rotten, most of the ones I have replaced are where the loo is sitting at a 45 degree angle :)

Status
Not open for further replies.