Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Tracpipe?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

andyg0507

got a bloke coming from oldham on thursday from tracpipe to give me and my boss a 40 minute training session on tracpipe for wich we get a certificate at the end( what for i dont know).

has anyone used this in installtions, whats the pro's n cons as ive always used copper obviously.

answers on a postcard plz.

the pros are you can fit very long lengths without joins, therefore it could be slightly quicker, (although i am a plumber so i can solder straight couplings to a high standard very quickly) it has an insulated cover so in some cases it will offer slightly better protection, the cons are you need a wheel pipecutter with a blade for stainless which is expensive and doesnt last that long, if/when you need fittings they are very expensive, and also people tend to not clip it often enough and sling it in anywhere to save lots of time, at the end of the day i dont think there is much in it either way, but as an oldie i prefer copper. i have done the training and as i work in a college i have done the assessor course to allow me to train others, it is very very straight forward

If you have long runs to do,like up a few floors or large conversions,it is great but for normal dwellings use copper
The price of it has come down,however you still have to buy in large rolls,would help if merchants sold by the meter,much like you can buy cable cut to the length required to cut down of any potential expensive wastage

imho

thanks lads, dont actually like the thought of using it, would rather use copper myself, but if there comes a day when i have to use it i will let you all know how i get on. cheers